At 5:00 AM, while still dark out, my alarm called to me, "Wake up, Miss Jet!  It's your wedding day!"  Holy crap.  It's my wedding day!
I lept out of bed and woke up the house of girls.

"Get ready girls, it's my wedding day.  Let's go row!"  (Oh, I row whaleboats...read about that here!)

I believe the general reply was something resembling a grumble and maybe a few swear words.

Once we were all (half) awake and dressed, we piled on our hats, gloves and scarves since the windy 30 degree morning was feeling less than comfortable.  My usual co-rowers, BM E, MOH K and Kate, agreed to my crazy plan to row the morning of my wedding to get out my nerves and start the day in a peaceful, positive way.  Along with that crew, BM C and BM V joined us in the boat, as did our amazing boatsteerer, Barbara.

We showed up at the docks while the moon was still up and found our boat decorated with balloons and a sign that said, "MISS JET'S GETTING MARRIED TODAY!", courtesy of Barbara.  BM E brought me a stand-in veil and we boarded our trusty vessel for an hour's paddle around Fairhaven/New Bedford harbor.
Now, our rows are very often unpredictable given varying tides and weather patterns.  Sometimes the water feels like peanut butter.  Sometimes the wind is so strong we are fighting currents both in AND out of the dock.  Sometimes the water is as smooth as glass and I feel like the strongest, most powerful woman on Earth.  The morning of my wedding, I felt like the strongest, most powerful woman on Earth.  The water was still and quiet, and we were the only ones on the (usually busy) waterway.  We watched the sun rise over Fort Phoenix and pushed our oars easily through the water on the way back to the dock.  The 7 AM rowers were just showing up as we came back to shore and I was hugged and congratulated by my team and by everyone there from my club. 

It was one of the best memories I have from my wedding day, and one I'll never forget.
Picture
BM V, BM C, Miss Jet, MOH K, BM E, Barbara & Kate!
Next time on The Newlyjets: I trade my oar for a mascara wand.  We're gettin' ready!
Previously on The Newlyjets:
  • The Rehearsal
  • The Night Before



Leave a Reply.