I've been tattooed since the day after my 18th birthday.

I got a TINY shamrock on the nape of my neck to honor my part-Irish family:  (All photos personal)
Picture
See? Tiny.
When I was 20, I added this to each wrist:
Picture
Can anyone venture a guess behind their meaning? Also, must point out that Bruce snuck into this photo as to be fairly represented on the 'Bee.
At the age of 22, I upped the ante:
Picture
Talk about state pride, right?
Finally, about two years ago, I added this:
Picture
Oh hey again, Bruce. What a camera-whore.
Needless to say, I will be a tattooed bride.  I've spent a lot of time, thought, and money on my body art - and I'm not ashamed to show it off any day, nevermind my own wedding.  I've been asked on more than one occasion if I'll be covering up my tattoos for the wedding.

"Do you really want to look back at your photos and see tattoos?"

"Uhh...yes?"

I've chosen this art, and it's not rubbing off anytime soon.  What would it mean for me to "pretend" like I don't have tattoos at my wedding?  They even sell tattoo cover-up for people who want to hide their tattoos!
Picture
Really, Kat? You of all people? Would you ever use this stuff? / Image via Sephora
While I can understand the thoughts of my more conservative family members, I cannot pretend to be something I'm not.  These tattoos are a huge part of who I am, and one of the reasons I caught Mr. Jet's eye in the first place! ;)  (He doesn't have any, too scared of needles - but he thought I was quite the bad.  ass.)

I wouldn't, on my wedding day or any other day, want to hide my tattoo-light under a bushel!  I'll be proudly sporting my ink on my wedding day.

Hive, any other tattooed brides/grooms out there??




Leave a Reply.