I cannot even deal with my email account sometimes.  Between my personal email and my business one, I must receive nearly 200 messages every day.  And I have to open every. single. one.  Why?  Because I do.  Because I hate seeing "INBOX (3,468)" on my screen.  Most of them get a quick click and onto the next, and I really do try to unsubscribe to things I never look at, but that shit's hard, yo!

When it came time to plan the wedding, I was adamant about creating a separate email to catch all the inevitable mailing list messages I will be inadvertently signed up for.  I created another gmail account, "[email protected]" which has been a great catch-all for all of the wedding CRAP that has been sent my way from visiting bridal fairs, vendors and websites.

It's also been a really helpful tool to organize my thoughts and ideas.  Since I communicate almost entirely via email during my 9-5 (really 7:30-4) job, I keep a good record of all the communication I've had with our vendors in folders I've created for each.  

In addition, all those WeddingBee blog posts I starred in my Google Reader?  I started emailing them to this address so I could sort those into categories as well!  

I thank my lucky stars every day that someone in my family has passed down this hyper-organized gene to me.  Thank you, whoever you are, dear relative of mine....

I must say, it's been incredibly helpful to have all of our wedding messages in one place and not have to sift through messages touting the best limo service in ALL of New England, free* wedding photobooths, whiter teeth in 5 minutes, etc.

*Please, nothing is free.  ESPECIALLY for a wedding.  Gimme a break, I'm no amateur.




Leave a Reply.