When it came to choosing the amount of flowers we'd need for the wedding, Mr. Jet and I were très clueless when it came to who gets what.  At the most basic level, I figured me and my bridal party would each carry a bouquet and Mr. Jet and his guys would all have boutonnieres - but beyond that, I wasn't sure what the floral protocol was.

Since we aren't using a traditional florist, I consulted with my BFF Google to figure out who exactly we should be supplying flowers for.  Turns out, the rules are - there ARE no rules!!  Most research I did told me the following parties should receive flowers:

  • Bride
  • Bridal Party
  • Groom
  • Groomsmen
  • Ushers
  • Parents
  • Grandparents
  • Ceremony Readers
  • Any and all "honored guests"


Sounded simple enough until I read about "honored guests".  Aren't all of our guests honored??  Well, not 'honored' like, you're-lucky-to-be-invited, but you get what I mean.  I guess if we were having a huge 300+ person wedding and wanted to make our immediate family feel more special - but for our 160 person soirée, it doesn't make sense for us.  Also, since our ceremony reader is in the wedding (MOH K), we killed two flowers with that stone!


We narrowed down our list to: 
  • Bride's Bouquet (hey, that's me!)
  • Bridal Party's Bouquets
  • Groom's Boutonniere
  • Groomsmen's Boutonnieres
  • Junior Usher's Boutonnieres (mini version of the groomsmen version)
  • Mom's Pinned Corsages
  • Dad's Boutonnieres
  • Nana's Pinned Corsage

This covers all of the bridal party, our parents and our only living grandparent/officiant-extraordinaire.

I'm glad we've kept it simple, although after seeing this today courtesy of Sam at Curious Floral Crafts...
I wish we bought flowers for EVERYONE WE'VE EVER MET.  EVER.

Can't wait to get these beauties in my hot little hands - word on the street is they're shipping out to me this week!  



Leave a Reply.